Whisper to Me by Nick Lake | The Sweet Review

12934848_1401014396864240_1765376017_n

Hi everyone 🙂

Today’s post is another review for you all – Whisper to Me by Nick Lake. I was very excited when I received this book from lovereading, as I have read a lot of his books, like There Will Be Lies and In Darkness. In Darkness is one of my favourite books and There Will Be Lies was also really good, so of course I was expecting great things from this book.

And let me tell you, Whisper to Me DEFINITELY lived up to my expectations.

The book is actually in the form of a love letter, from Cassie to a certain ‘you’, whom we don’t find out about until a bit later on. I was immediately gripped because of the unique format – it made me want to know more about Cassie and what happened for her to ‘hear voices’ and ‘miss you’.

As the novel progressed and Cassie revealed bit by bit about the past, I fell more and more in love with her as a character and the other protagonists. I think a lot of people can relate to Cassie, or maybe learn from her. She is extremely wise and I found myself storing what she said in my head for future quotes. I especially liked when she said, ‘We can’t keep anyone safe… so we just have to cling onto people when we can’.

Cassie and the other characters in this book, especially Paris and Julie, were very well developed. I almost feel like they could be real people, because they have flaws just like everyone else. They’re all a bit broken in some way, and I like that. I hate when books have very cliche and perfect characters because it affects the person reading them. By having a book with people who aren’t okay but fight through their problems, gives the reader hope.

I would give Whisper to Me 5 stars except for a few teeny things holding me back. Firstly, the title. I feel like it does relate to a lot of aspects of Cassie and can be seen as quite clever if you look at it through that perspective. But, I also feel like it could be improved upon. Secondly, the cover and the blurb. The cover, in my opinion, lets the book down a bit. Of course it looks pretty, but it doesn’t relate to the book at all. Whisper to Me contains a lot of gritty issues and I think that needs to be seen in the cover. To me when I picked it up, I thought it would be a YA romance. But Whisper to Me is so much more than ‘the most screwed-up love letter ever’, which is why I’m not giving it a five star. Instead, I think a four should do it!

Whisper to Me was fast paced and heart-racing – I never quite knew what was going to happen next. Although a long read, I became almost attached to the characters, and I must admit, a bit emotional towards the end. A book I won’t forget for a long time.

~The Sweet Review

| I N S T A G R A M |

| V I N E |

8 thoughts on “Whisper to Me by Nick Lake | The Sweet Review

Leave a Reply

