How to sort your bookshelf like a pro | The Sweet Review

screenshot_2016-05-20-18-06-23(1).jpg

Hello all! I hope you’re having a lovely day 🙂

So today I thought I’d put a little post together for you all. I know a lot of people struggle with making their bookshelf look good, or even choosing the bookshelf itself and making it match your room.

But fear no more!

I have all the answers to your questions, just keep on reading.

First of all, you need to have a bookshelf to be able to put your books in. I know that seems the most obvious thing, but it’s true! A while ago, I moved in to a flat and didn’t have time to think about the layout of my room. And eight months later, I still haven’t achieved my dream room layout. But, I do have a lovely little bookshelf that sits in the corner of my room. It’s more like a book-cabinet (that’s probably not a thing but now it is).

BeFunky Collage.jpg

In the summer, when I rejuvenate my room with the money I’ve saved, I am going to have  three shelves above my bed. This will give me more space for my endless supply of books and will fit in better with my room as a whole.

So as you can see there are lots of different types of bookshelves to buy, and even to make, if you’re into DIY. And once you’ve got your bookshelf sorted, the next step is to sort out your books.

There are a number of ways you can do this which I went through when sorting out my bookshelf. I used YouTube to help me sort out my books and I also came up with a few myself:

  1. Colour-coding – the ultimate art of sorting your books to make them look beautiful. It’s not the most sensible way to do things but it’s DEFINITELY the prettiest! My bookshelf at the moment is sorted using this method, going from white to red on the first shelf, then red to turquoise on the next and on the last shelf it goes through the colours purple, blue and black.  
  2. Author’s name – this is the pretty simple way to sort out your books – by the name of the author. You can base it on their first name but it’s typically done using their second name.
  3. Series and singulars – yes, I made up this name. I call this series and singulars because it consists of the books sorted into either series or single ‘one-offs’. With practise, you could make this quite pretty by adding little touches, such as themed bookmarks or Pop Vinyl figures. This one does take a lot of effort, which is why I haven’t done this method, but it IS very rewarding!

And there you have it! Of course there are many more ways to sort out your bookshelf but the three I mentioned are my personal faves. However, putting aside methods and all that malarkey, the best way to have a nice bookshelf is to have nice books! When sorting out your bookshelf, think to yourself, do I really need this book? Will I want to read it again? And by doing this, you will easily be able to get rid of books you don’t need. I must have given more than twenty books to charity, and now my bookshelf displays only the best!

I’m glad I sorted out my bookshelf – it was about time! And if you have piles of books lying everywhere like I did, it’s about time to sort yours out too.

I hope these little tips help!

~ The Sweet Review

| I N S T A G R A M |

| V I N E |

7 thoughts on “How to sort your bookshelf like a pro | The Sweet Review

  1. sultanabun says:

    Our children’s books are sorted by age; picture books on the lowest shelves, early readers above, lots of Roald Dahl and David Walliams and HP, YA ( John Green etc) up top. Basically, if you can reach it, you can read it!

  2. happyalexx says:

    I want a colour coordinated book shelf! Currently my room is a complete state with random stacks of books just everywhere! I really need to sort it all out

Leave a Reply

