Mr Vertigo by Paul Auster

If you would like to read the post I did before, in 2012, of the same book, click here.

‘I was twelve years old the first time I walked on water.’

Mr Vertigo follows the life of a boy named Walt, and the remarkable things he does in his lifetime. The book starts off when Walt is ten years old, a nobody hanging around the streets of Saint Louis. A strange man, who we find out is called Master Yehudi, takes him away. After years of training, Walt is taught how to fly.

I absolutely ADORE this book- it is one of my favourite books I have ever read. It is classified as an adults book, but I believe boys and girls over about twelve can read it too. The idea of flying being possible is irresistible, I can’t believe anyone other than Auster came up with this! I really enjoyed reading about Walt, and all of the others characters as well, especially Mrs Witherspoon.

The reason why I love this book so much, is because it teaches us so many things about life, and us as humans. Also, the novel is written in a realistic way, and by doing this Auster is telling us that anything, even flying, is possible. I gave it a five star three years ago, and I’m giving it a five star again- because it’s one of those books that stays with you years afterwards.

ps. The next review will likely be of a book called Underwater. Just to let you know!

Leave a Reply

