Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

‘Park noticed the new girl at about the same time everybody else did. She was standing at the front of the bus, next to the first available seat.’

Eleanor and Park; two names everybody thought wouldn’t go together. Eleanor is the new girl; a girl very different from other girls. With her red hair and mismatched clothes, she was an easy target for Tina and her boyfriend Steve. Park just wants to be invisible; invisible to his parents, his brother, his classmates, the world. Headphones on, head down, he wants nothing to do with Eleanor. But will they be able to ignore their gut feelings forever?

I’ve been wanting to read this book for ages, so when I saw it in my library, I was thrilled. Let me say this; it did not disappoint. A very realistic love story, the book captures exactly what school relationships are, and exactly what they aren’t. The situations that Eleanor and Park find themselves in are very relatable, and I found myself willing them to do what’s right. They are very likeable characters, also very complex, which I liked because often people don’t just have one feature or personality that stands out. Because it’s told from both points of view, it’s interesting to see how they react and what each other’s feeling’s are. The story ends abruptly, which was frustrating but satisfying at the same time. Usually in books the author’s try to wrap it up by the end, but Rainbow Rowell decided to leave it open: open, I guess, for us to choose what happens next.

I would recommend this strongly, to everyone aged above 13. The publisher is Orion, and I give it a five star. I loved this book!

5 thoughts on “Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

