The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger

The Catcher in the Rye is about a boy called Holden who has just been kicked out of high school. The story follows him as he travels through New York homeless and alone. His perceptive thoughts of when he meets new people will make you laugh. You find out in the end why the title is called The Catcher in the Rye and it is a surprising twist to the plot.

I thought this book was really good and I enjoyed reading about Holden’s life. The author makes an ordinary person seem extraordinary, which I thought was a clever idea. This is the only book I’ve read that doesn’t actually have much going on in it, but that’s why it’s so good. I liked Holden, who is the only main character, because of how he changed throughout the book. I don’t think I would change anything about this book if I could, because it’s perfect in it’s simplicity. If I changed anything it would be ruined. It is aimed at teenagers at the age of 13-16, because it tackles problems that teenagers go through, and teenagers could relate to the main character.

If you have read Diary of A Wimpy Kid and liked it, you should read this (both books are very similar but The Catcher in the Rye is maybe a bit harder to read). I would definitely recommend it- I think any teenager should read it. I rate it five stars, being the best I could possibly expect it to be, and the publisher is Bloomsbury.

Leave a Reply

