Q&A with J A Buckle

Here is a Q&A with J A Buckle. You can see my reviews of her books, Half My Facebook Friends Are Ferrets and My Smoky Bacon Crisp Obsession.

Is there a time of day when you most like to write?

I’m a bit of a morning person – by about 9.00pm I’m usually only fit for collapsing in front of Netflix with a packet of biscuits. So, earlier on in the day is best.

 Do you prefer to use a laptop to write or a pen and paper?

I usually write straight onto the computer. I do make notes in various places too, though. I have about four notebooks on the go, as I can never find the one I was using last. Shops like Paperchase love me, as I am always buying new notepads!

Did you always want to become a writer when you were younger?

No, not really. I didn’t start reading fiction until my mid twenties when I discovered the wonderful Terry Pratchett. When I was young I wanted to be a vet or a conservationist.

Could you see yourself doing any other job?

Well, my full-time job is as a webmaster for a national drug dependency charity. I also volunteer as a befriender for an eating disorders charity.

 Can you relate to any of your characters?

In some ways I relate to Josh’s mum, as I am a mum. I think she’s a lot stricter than me, although if you ask my kids they may disagree with that! I think my eldest daughter Sophie identifies a bit with Josh, due to their shared love of metal.

 If you could meet Josh Walker from your books, what would you say to him?

Did you know that a lot of people are reading your secret diary?

What advice would you give to people who would like to become a writer?

My main tips for writing are, firstly to read lots and (strangely) also to watch TV! I like writing comedy so I read a lot of comedy by people like Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams and I watch a lot of comedy too – things like Live at the Apollo and sitcoms.  Basically, the more stuff you read the better.

I also take a little notebook around with me, just in case I have an idea or overhear something funny. In the past I had to write on things I found in my bag like old screwed-up Morrison’s receipts and packets of aspirin! Now I’m a bit more organised.

 Will there be another book with Josh Walker and his friends?

I hope there will be. I have what I think is a good idea for one but we will have to wait and see. Fingers crossed 🙂

Leave a Reply

