Divergent by Veronica Roth

‘Today is the day of the aptitude test that will show me which of the five factions I belong in. And tomorrow, at the Choosing Ceremony, I will decide on a faction; I will decide the rest of my life; I will decide to stay with my family or abandon them.’

Beatrice Prior is a sixteen year old girl who is different to the others. Not because she left her family to become Dauntless. Not because she was the first jumper. Not even because she fell in love with Four, her  mysterious teacher. But because she doesn’t belong anywhere. She is a bit of everything. She is Divergent.

When Tris changes the rest of her life does too. Caleb, her brother, changes. She finds out more about her mother than she knew before. And the factions are arguing fiercely. Erudite wants power. And anything that gets in their way will be killed. So when Jeanine finds out Tris’ darkest secret, something goes wrong. Horribly wrong. And Tris’ already wilting life crumbles to reveal her true self.

I love love love this book so much! I got it for my birthday as I watched the movie before, and although I’ve been busy since then I have squeezed in at least half an hour of reading every day. Tris is just such an amazing character and the story is structured well as she finds out more about herself at the same rate as the audience does. She is a good person who has a strong willed mind, but creates problems as she doesn’t trust herself with the respect she has, which frustrates me as there is a lot of dramatic irony going on! Roth creates pictures so vivid at some points I could be hugging Four, I could be giving advice to Christina, I could be living Tris’ life. I liked reading her fear landscapes out of all the scenes.

But most of all, I adore the books plot. How could Veronica Roth create such an incredible storyline? This book now rivals The Hunger Games and Harry Potter for popularities, but personally, I like this book more than The Hunger Games!

The age range for Divergent is 12+ and the publisher is Harper Collins. I give this book a four star review.

Leave a Reply

