Twilight by Stephenie Meyer- requested by HermioneKatnissTris

This is the first review for HermioneKatnissTris and Joshua who won the competition I made. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, click here first then here, then here. Enjoy!

” I went meekly to the desk, my face white for once instead of red, and handed her the signed slip. ‘How did your first day go, dear?’ the receptionist asked maternally. ‘Fine,’ I lied, my voice weak. She didn’t look convinced.”

No-one knows why Bella moved from Phoenix to Forks. Phoenix is the centre of America, where everything glows bright. Forks is a secluded little village surrounded by Nature. So why Bella moved is unclear. But why she didn’t move back is very obvious.
Bella quickly gathers big eyed admirers, but the only person she is interested in is Edward Cullen, the beautiful teenager who looked too old for his age. It’s only when she’s drawn in that she realises who Edward is deep down, and that she was in terrible danger.

From the downcast reviews and disgusted looks, I really did think that Twilight would be a series that’s too cliché for me to be bothered to read. But, to be honest, I actually liked it quite a lot. The characters are more heroic and likeable, especially Alice and Bella. The romance was quite realistic (apart from the vampire plot, of course) and it made me want to read the first chapter of the next book which is always a good sign. Bella’s story is interesting, thrilling and fantastical, twisted with action that kept me reading ’till the end. I will review the next two books shortly, and I just hope that they will make me smile like this one.
There were a few downsides to Meyer’s novel, like the slightly (but not as much as people’d think) clichéd romance between Bella and Edward, but it is worth reading if you like the book Beautiful Creatures. I am giving it three and a half stars for Bella’s humour and Alice’s personality. The age range is 12-19 and the publisher is Atom.

The first Twilight book in the series

 

Leave a Reply

