The Little House on The Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder

“A long time ago, when all the grandfathers and grandmothers of today were little boys and little girls or very small babies, or perhaps not even born, Pa and Ma and Mary and Laura and Baby Carrie left their little house in the Big Woods of Wisconsin. They drove away and left it lonely and empty in the clearing among the big trees, and they never saw that little house again. They were going to the Indian country.”

Laura, her two sisters and parents are moving to a prairie. They have to leave their snug house and travel by wagon, which I’m sure is not nice at all. After they have reached the Western country and crossed the Mississippi, they start building a great house. It’s long work and for many nights they are only protected by a sheet across the wagon opening. Nevertheless, Laura and Mary are still excited by the dream of meeting Indians- but nearly all hope is lost when the family starts hearing howls ringing throughout the prairie at night. It seems that, among the nice people at day, some very scary people appear at night.

Two of my friends recommended this book whilst having a nice browse in the school library.

“I know it looks bad, but it’s not. It’s really good, isn’t it?” One of my friends said to the other, urging me to borrow it.

They made me read it; I was reluctant at first but then I got into it a bit more once I actually started the build-up of the plot. The writing is pretty easy but the story is very interesting. It may not be one of my favourite books, but I liked it a lot and I think I could just put it into my ‘good books category’.

The age range is 8+ on the back of the book I have got, but I’m going to raise it up a bit higher to 9+. The publisher is Egmont Classics. I give it a four star.

Leave a Reply

