The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows Of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

“To many, I was myth incarnate, the embodiment of a most superb legend, a fairy tale. Some considered me a monster, a mutation. To my great misfortune, I was once mistake for an angel. To my mother, I was everything. To my father, nothing at all. To my grandmother, I was a daily reminder of loves long lost. But I knew the truth- deep down, I always did. I was just a girl.”

Ava Lavender is a girl with a most mysterious background. Living in Pinnacle Lane, Ava always knew something was different about her family; not just that her twin was a mute, her Mum was lost in her own fantasies, and her elegant grandmother often seemed to want to be let alone, but the looks and thoughts clearly shown in their neighbours faces. The Lavender family were accepted a long time ago, but Ava (and I’m sure the whole family) saw every single face and knew people thought they were weird. And Ava has got to be the weirdest of them all: she was born with brown wings.

I knew this book was going to be good as soon as I turned the first page. What I love the most is the cleverness of Leslye’s writing; the way that the person goes from third to first. I also find her writing very beautiful and the events show very believable, but also very strange at the same time. For instance, events that actually happen, like the First World War, are included, and mostly everything fits in with the time period; but at the same time events that occur are often out of this world, like when great-grandmother dies, and her spirit changes into the form of blue ashes. I also find that the change of main characters but the same person narrating the story is very effective and makes it more unique to any other book I’ve read. The plot and characters are amazing. Another main advantage is that you don’t know how good this book is until you read it yourself.

The age range is 13+ and the publisher is Walker Books. I give this book, without any hesitation, a five star.

 

Leave a Reply

