Every Day by David Levithan

“I wake up. Immediately, I have to figure out who I am. It’s not just the body- opening my eyes and discovering whether the skin on my arm is light or dark, whether my hair is long or short, whether I’m fat or thin, boy or girl, scarred or smooth. The body is the easiest thing to adjust to, if you’re waking up in a new one each morning. It’s the life, the context of the body, that can be hard to grasp.”

Whenever A wakes up, A is someone different. A different name. A different home. A different life. Every day, A accesses his new body’s information, and borrows it for a day. Normally, A likes to be good, to try and not interfere or change the person’s life in any way possible. But when A meets Rhiannon in her boyfriend’s body, things change dramatically. Unexpectedly, A is drawn towards Rhiannon and her innocent personality. He wants to be with her every day. But can A really trust Rhiannon to keep his life a secret? Meanwhile, the news is spreading on the network that a boy had been ‘possessed by devils’. Will A finds out and stop the rumpus before anything happens and it’s too late?

I. Am. Speechless. All I can say about this book is that every single person in the world should read it.Β Funny, imaginative, harrowing and literally jaw-dropping, David Levithan is now my idol for writing such a great book. Just the idea of a spirit borrowing peoples lives for a day is amazing, don’t you think? Also, as well as about four protagonists, there are loads of different kinds of people that we see for a chapter; beautiful, heavy, good, bad, etc. and I love to explore the stories in each person. The age range is 13+ for both boys and girls. and I have to give it a five star. The publisher is Electric Monkey (I also recommend this publishing company because all of their books are great.

One thought on “Every Day by David Levithan

  1. Pingback: Every Day | The Weird District

Leave a Reply

