How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff

“My name is Elizabeth but no one’s ever called me that. My father took one look a me when I was born and must have thought I had the face of someone dignified and sad like an old fashioned queen or a dead person, but what I turned out like is plain, not much there is to notice. Even my life so far has been plain. More Daisy than Elizabeth from the word go.                                                                                            But the summer I went to England to stay with my cousins everything changed. Part of that was because of a war, which supposedly changed lots of things, but I can’t remember much about life before he war anyway so it doesn’t count in my book, which this is.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Mostly everything changed because of Edmond.                                                                                                                                                                                  And so here’s what happened.”

When Daisy was carted off by her father and mean step-mum to her cousins in England, she didn’t know much about war. For five weeks she lived contentedly with Edmond, Isaac, Piper and Osbert; picnicking, fishing and spending hours staring into Edmond’s eyes… it all seems too perfect, right? But not for long. Soon soldiers enter the house and take it over, forcing them to live with different families. Daisy and Piper are split up from Edmond, Isaac and Osbert and sent to live with a couple. While the war is raging around them, Daisy and Piper escape and take the long journey through the chaos with only one map, one compass and food that would last for a day. Will Daisy make it though the war? Will she ever see Edmond again?

Laced with excitement and covered with many different genres, How I Live Now is so good I read it in a day. Hilarious, scary, intense… it is definitely the best world war 2 book I have ever read. Although at the start I found it a bit too detailed (because all of the sentences were quite long) but after roughly the tenth page I really got into it. The character of the protagonist was great; rude, funny, serious and lovable at the same time. The writing is quite easy so I would say the age range is 11+, and the publisher was Penguin. I give this book four stars. Also, there is a film for How I Live Now, but the age range for that is (roughly) 15+

Leave a Reply

