I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai (with Christina Lamb)

“I come from a country which was created at midnight. When I almost died it was just after midday.”

Malala Yousafzai is a sixteen year old girl who fought for the rights of women and education when the Taliban ruled her country. This is her story about how she campaigned for justice and was shot for her brave and courageous actions. Amazing and inspirational, I Am Malala should be read by everyone: not because of the words, but because of the moral that so many people ignore – one person who speaks out can change the world.

Before I knew about Malala, I dismissed the thought of being a feminist- how could I change anything? It has nothing to do with me. But when I attended a school assembly which was dedicated to her, and read the book, my thoughts changed completely. I now know that one person can make the course of education different, by speaking out. If everyone read this book the world would be a better place. Also, the book itself has an great plot which grips you until the very last sentence. Although it usually takes me about three days to read a book, I Am Malala took me a week. This shows that, unlike some books, you learn a massive amount.

The age range is 12+ and the publisher is Orion Books. I give this book five stars.

 

Leave a Reply

