The Swish of the Curtain by Pamela Brown

This classic old book passed down from my mother to me is as exciting and gripping as any children’s book read nowadays. This is the second time I have read it in three years but I still believe it’s amazing. Personally, I would love to be in a theatre company with my friends like Lyn, Nigel, Maddy, Jeremy, Bulldog (Percy), Vicky and Sandra in The Swish of the Curtain…

” ‘A theatre of our own!’ Exclaimed Lyn. ‘Oh, it’s a dream come true…'”

It all started when Maddy broke a window in the abandoned small theatre. Of course, the didn’t know what it was at the time, but because they are sensible children they decided to buy a pane of glass and fix it. They explored the theatre and shortly afterwords created their own theatre company; The Blue Door Theatre. They all wanted to have a career in drama, especially Lyn, but their parents won’t take them seriously. Will the Blue Door Theatre Company last forever? Will their parents ever say yes to drama? Will they win the Seymore Trophy…

The Swish of the Curtain is all about believing in your dreams, which I think is important in life. My favourite characters is Nigel because he keeps the company together, and Sandra, with her calm complexion and sewing abilities.

I recommend this book to girls and the age range is 9+. The publisher is Knight Books.

 

2 thoughts on “The Swish of the Curtain by Pamela Brown

    • thesweetreview says:

      Yes it is one of my favourites too! Same with me. If you have any more favourite books, you can tell me and I can try to read and review them as soon as possible. Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

